Compare

Edge vs phase.fitness

Both plan lifting and running together, which is rarer than it should be. The difference is where the sessions live, and what else can be in the week.

Updated

The short answer

Edge builds one adaptive plan for running, strength and HIIT from a questionnaire on your level, goals, races, schedule and equipment, and runs it in its own iOS, Android and web apps; Flexi Swap moves sessions and rebalances the week, and runs come in from Strava, Garmin, COROS or Apple Health. phase.fitness plans strength, cardio and calisthenics in one periodized program and sends each session out — to Hevy, Liftosaur, Garmin or Intervals.icu — then writes the next phase from what comes back.

What Edge is

A hybrid training app that builds one adaptive plan for running, strength and HIIT, with mobility sessions, on iOS, Android and the web.

Everything below comes from their own site, read on . Where a page did not say something, the row says so rather than guessing — “not stated” means we could not find it, not that the product cannot do it.

Side by side

What it plans

Whether the whole week is planned, or only part of it.

Edge

Yes

Running, strength and HIIT in one adaptive plan, with mobility sessions; HYROX is one of the goals you can train for.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

Strength, cardio and calisthenics in the same periodized program, in any combination.

Source · Checked

How the plan is built

What the plan starts from, and what makes it change.

Edge

Yes

From a questionnaire on level, goals, races, schedule, equipment and preferences, ready in the app within 24 hours; Flexi Swap moves sessions and rebalances the week.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

Written from the knowledge-base documents for your case, laid out a phase at a time, and rewritten from your logs when each phase ends.

Source · Checked

Bodyweight skills

Whether a muscle-up or a front lever can be a goal inside the same plan.

Edge

Not stated

The pages we read describe running, strength, HIIT and mobility, and do not mention skill progressions such as the muscle-up or the front lever.

Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

Bodyweight skills on progressions with mastery standards, run in a built-in player, inside the same week as the rest.

Source · Checked

Where you train

Whether the session can leave the app it was written in.

Edge

In part

Strava, Garmin, COROS and Apple Health connect, and runs are logged into Edge from your watch; the page does not describe sending sessions back out.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

Two-way with Garmin, Hevy, Intervals.icu and Liftosaur: planned sessions go out, completed ones come back. Sessions finished in phase.fitness can also be posted to Strava.

Source · Checked

Price

The first question, answered from each side's own page.

Edge

Yes

£19.99 a month, £49.99 every three months or £119.99 a year, after a 7-day free trial.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

$34.90 every three months, or $104.70 a year. There is no monthly plan.

Source · Checked

Platform

Whether you need to install something, and on what.

Edge

Yes

iOS and Android apps, plus a web app.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

A web app you install from the browser today; an iPhone and Apple Watch app is coming soon to the App Store.

Source · Checked

When Edge is the better choice

  • You want a native app today, on Android as well as iPhone.
  • Your week is running, strength and HIIT, and bodyweight skills are not part of it.
  • You would rather train inside one app than send sessions to the ones you already use.

When phase.fitness is

  • You log strength in Hevy or Liftosaur, or train cardio from Garmin or Intervals.icu, and want the plan to land there.
  • You train skills — a muscle-up, a front lever, a handstand — alongside the lifting and the running.
  • You want to see the knowledge-base document each number comes from.

Where to start in phase.fitness

Questions

Is phase.fitness an Edge alternative?

If you want strength and running planned together, both do it, and the difference is where the sessions go and what else is in the week. Edge runs its plan in its own app; phase.fitness sends the sessions to Hevy, Liftosaur, Garmin or Intervals.icu and adds bodyweight skills as a third modality.

Does Edge plan calisthenics skills?

The pages we read in October 2026 describe running, strength, HIIT and mobility, and do not mention skill progressions such as the muscle-up or the front lever. phase.fitness programs those on progressions with mastery standards, in the same week as the rest.

What does Edge cost?

Its site lists £19.99 a month, £49.99 every three months or £119.99 a year, after a seven-day free trial, as of October 2026. phase.fitness is $34.90 every three months or $104.70 a year, with no monthly plan.

See what phase.fitness would write for you