Compare

Fitbod vs phase.fitness

Fitbod answers «what should I do today». phase.fitness answers «what should the next four weeks be». Both are real questions, and the honest version of this page is that they are not the same one.

Updated

The short answer

Fitbod generates a personalised workout each time you open it, from your logged history, your available equipment and which muscles it considers recovered — and its own FAQ says the app is built exclusively for resistance and strength training, with cardio-like movements appearing only occasionally. phase.fitness plans in the other direction: a periodized block of roughly four weeks, laid out on a calendar in advance, covering strength, endurance and bodyweight skills, and rewritten when the block ends. One optimises today; the other commits to a plan you can see.

What Fitbod is

A strength-training app that generates each session algorithmically from your training history, your equipment and a model of muscle recovery, on iOS and Android.

Everything below comes from their own site, read on . Where a page did not say something, the row says so rather than guessing — “not stated” means we could not find it, not that the product cannot do it.

Side by side

How far ahead you can see

A plan you cannot see in advance is hard to arrange a life around.

Fitbod

In part

Session by session: the app recommends what to train next from your history and recovery.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

A phase of roughly four weeks, laid out on a calendar before it starts.

Source · Checked

What it plans

Whether the running in your week is planned or merely tolerated.

Fitbod

In part

Resistance training. Their FAQ says the app is built exclusively for it, with occasional cardio-like movements for conditioning.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

Strength, cardio and calisthenics in one program, with the hard days ordered against each other.

Source · Checked

Equipment constraints

Both handle a half-equipped gym; it is worth saying so rather than scoring a point.

Fitbod

Yes

Equipment settings cover bodyweight, bands or limited gear, and the plan adjusts to the setup.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

The program is written from an equipment list, with mapped substitutions when a pattern has no tool.

Source · Checked

Price

The number one question, and one of these does not answer it publicly.

Fitbod

Not stated

Not published on the pages we read; the site sends you into the app to start.

Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

$34.90 every three months, or $104.70 a year, on the pricing page.

Source · Checked

Where you train

Whether the session can leave the app it was written in.

Fitbod

Not stated

The pages we read describe logging in the app and do not mention sending sessions to another app or a watch.

Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

Two-way with Garmin, Hevy, Intervals.icu and Liftosaur: planned sessions go out, completed ones come back. Sessions finished in phase.fitness can also be posted to Strava.

Source · Checked

Platform

Whether you need to install something, and on what.

Fitbod

Yes

Android and iOS.

Source · Checked

phase.fitness

Yes

A web app installable from the browser; an iPhone and Apple Watch app is coming soon.

Source · Checked

When Fitbod is the better choice

  • You want to open an app and be told what to do in the next hour, with no plan to maintain.
  • Your training is resistance work only, and you like that the app decides the split for you.
  • Your schedule is unpredictable enough that a four-week calendar would only make you feel behind.
  • You want a native app today rather than a web app.

When phase.fitness is

  • You want to see the block before it starts, and to know why Thursday is easy.
  • Your week contains endurance work that needs to be ordered against the lifting.
  • You want the sessions to arrive in Hevy, Liftosaur or your watch.
  • You are training toward a date — a meet, a race, a season — rather than toward today.

Where to start in phase.fitness

Questions

Is phase.fitness a Fitbod alternative?

If what you want is a plan for the next four weeks, yes. If what you want is a good session generated on the spot, Fitbod does that and phase.fitness deliberately does not — it plans a week in advance so you can see it.

Does Fitbod plan cardio?

Their own FAQ says the app is built exclusively for resistance and strength training, and that cardio-like movements appear only occasionally, for conditioning or warm-ups. phase.fitness plans cardio as a modality with its own sessions and zones.

What does Fitbod cost?

We could not find a price published on their site when we checked in September 2026, so we have left the cell empty rather than repeat a number from somewhere else. phase.fitness is $34.90 every three months or $104.70 a year.

See what phase.fitness would write for you